This site is part of the Informa Connect Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

Antibody Engineering & Therapeutics US
December 4 - 8, 2022
Marriott Marquis San DiegoDelivered as a Hybrid Event

Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD
Baker Family Director, Stanford ChEM-H and Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Chemistry at Stanford University


Carolyn Bertozzi is the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Chemical & Systems Biology and Radiology (by courtesy) at Stanford University, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She completed her undergraduate degree in Chemistry from Harvard University in 1988 and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley in 1993. After completing postdoctoral work at UCSF in the field of cellular immunology, she joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 1996. In June 2015, she joined the faculty at Stanford University coincident with the launch of Stanford's ChEM-H institute.

Prof. Bertozzi's research interests span the disciplines of chemistry and biology with an emphasis on studies of cell surface glycosylation pertinent to disease states. Her lab focuses on profiling changes in cell surface glycosylation associated with cancer, inflammation and bacterial infection, and exploiting this information for development of diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, most recently in the area of immuno-oncology. She has been recognized with many honors and awards for her research accomplishments. She is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, and American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She has been awarded the Lemelson-MIT Prize, the Heinrich Wieland Prize, and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, among many others.

Major Awards:

Wolf Prize in Chemistry(2022); AAAS Lifetime Mentor Award (2022); Helen Dean King Award, The Wistar Institute (2022); STATUS List 2022 (Stat News); President’s Innovator Award, Society for Glycobiology (2020); Nagoya Medal (2020); Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize (2020); National Academy of Sciences John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science (2020); The Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest (2019), Fellow of the Royal Society (2018); National Inventor’s Hall of Fame Inductee (2017); American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Award (2017); National Academy of Sciences Award in the Chemical Sciences (2016); Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award of the U.S. Department of Energy (2015); UCSF 150th Anniversary Alumni Excellence Award (2015); Hans Bloemendal Award (Radboud Univ. Nijmegen) (2013); Heinrich Wieland Prize (2012); Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award (2011); Lemelson-MIT Prize (2010); Albert Hofmann Medal (Univ. Zurich) (2009); Harrison Howe Award (2009); W. H. Nichols Award (2009); Willard Gibbs Medal (2008); Roy L. Whistler International Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry (2008); Li Ka Shing Women in Science Award (2008); Ernst Schering Prize (2007); T.Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professorship in Chemistry (2005); Havinga Medal, Univ. Leiden (2005); Iota Sigma Pi Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award (2004); Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award of the Protein Society (2002); Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2002); Donald Sterling Noyce Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (2001); UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award (2001); ACS Award in Pure Chemistry (2001); Merck Academic Development Program Award (2000); UC Berkeley Department of Chemistry Teaching Award (2000); Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE) (2000); MacArthur Foundation “Genius” Award (1999); Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1999); Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (ACS) (1999); Beckman Young Investigator Award (1998); Prytanean Faculty Award (1998); Glaxo Wellcome Scholar (1998); Research Corporation Research Innovation Award (1998); Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award (1998); Horace S. Isbell Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry (ACS) (1997); Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow (1997); Burroughs Wellcome New Investigator Award in Pharmacology (1997); Pew Scholars Award in the Biomedical Sciences (1996); Exxon Education Fund Young Investigator Award (1996); Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award (1995)