This site is part of the Informa Connect Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

CMA Shipping
38th Annual Expo & Conference
March 28-30, 2023Hilton Stamford | Connecticut, USA

38th Annual Expo & Conference|March 28-30, 2023, Hilton Stamford | Connecticut, USA

The Commodore Award

The 2022 Commodore Award was presented on Thursday, March 31, 2022 at the Gala Dinner marking the conclusion of the annual Connecticut Maritime Association Conference and Expo, at the Hilton Hotel in Stamford, Connecticut, USA.

Podcast - Maritime Masterclass: Gary Vogel, CMA Commodore 2022

Mr. Gary Vogel, Chief Executive Officer of Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc., was named as the Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore for the year 2022. Mr. Vogel follows a long succession of influential maritime industry leaders as Commodore. Read the full press release here.

In this new Maritime Masterclass episode of Gary Vogel, Chief Executive Officer of Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc. and CMA Commodore for 2022 shares with listeners about his career in maritime and lessons to be learned. 


The Connecticut Maritime Association is a non-profit organization built by its members for its members. It is an Association made of individuals representing every aspect of shipping and International trade.  

Each year the CMA Board present the annual Commodore Award to someone who has significantly contributed to the dynamism, growth and development of the maritime industry. 

Past Award Winners

2020/21 Lois Zabrocky, CEO, International Seaways, Inc.

2019 John C. Hadjipateras, CEO & President of Dorian LPG Ltd 

2018 Sabrina S. M. Chao, Executive Chairman, Wah Kwong Maritime Transport Holdings Ltd.

2017 John D. “Jack” Noonan, CEO, Chembulk Tankers

2016 Paddy Rodgers, CEO of Euronav NV

2015 Capt. Panagiotis N. Tsakos, Founder, Tsakos Group

2014 Robert Bugbee, President & Director, Scorpio Tankers Inc. & Scorpio Bulkers Inc.

2013 Peter Evensen, President & CEO, Teekay Corporation

2012 Øivind Lorentzen, III, CEO, SEACOR Holdings Inc.

2011 Angeliki Frangou, Chairman & CEO, Navios Group of Companies

2010 Philippe Louis-Dreyfus, President, Louis Dreyfus Armateurs Group

2009 Capt. Wei Jiafu, President & CEO, COSCO Group

2008 John Fredriksen, Chairman, CEO & President, Frontline Ltd.

2007 Morten Arntzen, President & CEO, Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.

2006 Torben G. Jensen, Chairman & CEO, The Clipper Group

2005 C. Sean Day, Chairman, Teekay Shipping Corporation

2004 Peter C. Georgiopoulos, Chairman & CEO, General Maritime Corporation

2003 Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Chairman, easyGroup

2002 Frank Tsao, Group Chairman, IMC Group of Companies

2001 Marc Saverys, Managing Director, CMB

2000 Per Heidenreich, President, Heidenreich Marine

1999 Richard du Moulin, Chairman, Marine Transport, Corporation and Chairman, Intertanko

1998 William A. O’Neil, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization

1997 Gerhard E. Kurz, President, Mobil Shipping and Transportation Company

1996 Dr. Helmut Sohmen, Chairman, World-Wide Shipping Agency, Ltd. (HK)

1995 Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis, President, Eletson Corporation

1994 Thomas E. Moran, Chairman, Moran Towing Corporation

1993 Philip Loree, Chairman, Federation of American, Controlled Shipping

1992 George P. Livanos, Ceres Hellenic, George P. Livanos, Ceres Hellenic

1991 Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, Chairman, Stolt-Nielsen, Inc.

1990 Ole Skaarup, Chairman, Skaarup Shipping Corporation