This site is part of the Informa Connect Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

The FIDIC Contracts Awards

The second annual FIDIC Contracts Awards are now open for entries which showcase the great work carried out by an individual, team, project or organisation.

Background & Purpose

The FIDIC Contracts are widely used and accepted as global procurement standards contract forms. With the users including public and private clients, multilateral development banks (MDB), consultants, contractors and equipment suppliers, FIDIC hosts annual Contract Users Conferences in Europe (London), Africa, the Middle East and Asia. Attendance at each conference has ranged from 60 to 300 persons, with over 3,000 delegates attending since their inception.

This year, FIDIC is running it second contract users’ awards as part of its annual International Contract Users’ Conference, which takes place in December. The FIDIC Contracts Awards aim to recognise excellence in the use of FIDIC contract forms for project delivery and showcase examples of good practice through collaboration from across the world. The purpose of the awards is to bring the community of FIDIC contract users together, to celebrate and highlight excellence and best practice and raise the profile of FIDIC contracts on a global scale. Winners of the awards embody real achievement and are a testimony to the great work carried out by the individual, team, project or organisation. 

Commenting on the awards, FIDIC chief executive Dr Nelson Ogunshakin, said: “Last year’s awards were a great start to an initiative that is showcasing the brilliant work of FIDIC contract users from around the globe. That work is making a real difference on innovative projects and it’s only right that individuals, teams, projects and organisations get the recognition that they deserve. These awards are a great way to raise profile in our industry and more widely and I encourage all users of FIDIC contracts to enter them.” The winners will be presented with their awards at the FIDIC International Contract Users’ Conference, which is currently planned to take place in London from Monday 30 November to Thursday 3 December 2020.

FIDIC Contracts Awards Categories

In their inaugural year in 2019, seven FIDIC Contracts Awards were handed out with the winners drawn from all over the world. This year, following consultation with the industry, the number of award categories has been increased to ten and features the addition of an International Financial Institution of the Year Award and separate categories for adjudicators and trainers. 

As part of this programme, the awards will be presented on the evening of Tuesday 1 December. We are aware that the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic continues to create uncertainty and that a physical event will not be possible this year., so will be in virtual event/awards ceremony format. 

The closing date for entries for the awards is 23 October 2020.

The entry process has been streamlined this year and entrants can submit their entry online via the FIDIC website.

Award categories for 2020 are as follows: 

• FIDIC Contracts Project of the Year 

• FIDIC Contracts Client of the Year 

• FIDIC Contracts Consultant of the Year 

• FIDIC Contracts IFI (International Finance Institution) of the Year 

• FIDIC Contracts Contractor of the Year 

• FIDIC Contracts Legal or Professional Services of the Year 

• FIDIC Contracts trainer(s) of the Year 

• FIDIC Contract adjudicator(s) of the Year 

• FIDIC Strategic Partners of the Year 

• FIDIC Golden Principles Award